Vijay and Rudolph walk into a bar…

vijay-singh_2466074b

Reuters

Sorry that I’ve not been keeping my readers up to date on this developing story, as it has grown 1000 legs since first surfacing in the news just 24 hours ago. For those who would like more background, you can read the original Sports Illustrated article that broke the news back on Tuesday HERE. In that article you’ll get a pretty thorough overview of what exactly makes deer antlers the new must-have banned substance on the illegal users’ performance enhancing drug market, and if you’re like me – you’ll get this enormous sense that a significant number of athletes will go to great lengths to gain whatever competitive edge they can, even if it involves digesting bone fragments of possum, rabbit, roosters, or any other number of feathered or furry woodland critters.

Now I admit that in my current form – one would never confuse yours truly for being a professional athlete relying on his athleticism to earn a zillion dollars each year. Suffice to say, I’m not tempted by the pressures that accompany life in the athletically competitive arena. That said, if deer antlers or any of the aforementioned animal products above show some promise in magically removing 75 unwanted pounds of excess cellulite? Sorry, but you had me at hello, as Jerry Maguire’s girlfriend would say.

And if you would be so kind, please excuse me now while I go purchase my hunting license and look through my rolodex for Boo Weekley’s phone number.

Getting back to the serious discussion at hand now… Apparently Vijay Singh was one of several names mentioned in the SI article above, an article that basically outs several professional athletes by alleging that they’ve used the banned substance IGF-1, which from what I’ve read indicates that the deer antler substance stimulates muscle growth in a similar manner as that of HGH, formally known as human growth hormone. For what it’s worth, and in case you didn’t catch it in the article, IGF-1 is banned by most all recognized sports organizations world-wide, including the PGA Tour. The only problem as it relates to the PGA Tour is that through their current drug testing program – their testing methods don’t detect the banned substance obtained through deer antlerology. Another problem, potentially an even bigger problem at that, is that according to THIS  recent article posted on Geoff Shackelford’s blog – Vijay isn’t the only professional golfer on the PGA Tour who might’ve dabbled with deer antlers. You might take note of the promotional video at the bottom of that article that seems to implicate several well-known Champions Tour players as well.

And it might be best at this precise moment that I reiterate my statement I made earlier this afternoon about legalities and liabilities. I do want to make it crystal clear that I’m not stating that anyone is guilty of anything, even those who may have admitted it after the fact, but might decide to change their minds at some point down the road. You can never be too careful in this day and age. But Vijay issued THIS statement earlier this afternoon, admitting he was using the substance. I’ll add his statement below.

“In light of the recent article on sportsillustrated.com, I want to issue the following statement: While I have used deer antler spray, at no time was I aware that it may contain a substance that is banned under the PGA TOUR Anti-Doping Policy. In fact, when I first received the product, I reviewed the list of ingredients and did not see any prohibited substances. I am absolutely shocked that deer antler spray may contain a banned substance and am angry that I have put myself in this position. I have been in contact with the PGA TOUR and am cooperating fully with their review of this matter. I will not be commenting further at this time.”

As much as I’m sure that Singh is hoping that this would put the matter to bed, rest assured that it’s probably not even remotely the case.

Some of you might recall a fella by the name of Doug Barron, the only PGA Tour player to ever have been suspended by the Tour for using substances that were banned by the Tour’s Anti Doping policy. This happened back in 2009, although there are a couple of differences. For starters, Barron claimed that the banned substances he was taking were to treat an existing medical condition and prescribed by his personal physician, despite knowing that the substances (beta blockers) were deemed illegal. Barron appealed the ruling, but the Tour refused to budge from their verdict and the suspension was upheld. But according to Vijay, he was unaware that the deer antler spray contained a banned substance, although it’s worth noting (at least in most courts of law) that ignorance isn’t a sufficient defense. The bottom line, as will likely be said at least a few times over the coming weeks, is that every player is responsible for knowing if any medications, vitamins and supplements they’re taking contain substances deemed illegal with respect to the Tour’s Anti Doping policy. The other difference, as noted earlier, is that the deer antler spray substance isn’t detectable under current Tour drug testing methods, which I’m guessing will likely change very soon given the amount of controversy this all entails.

So how does the Tour proceed? Do they offer Singh (and maybe others) a one-time reprieve for admitting they’ve used the substance, given that their program’s testing methods don’t detect it? Or do they hold the line as their policy states? It is, after all, an illegal substance and anyone with access to a computer and a popular Internet search engine could figure it out. Of which, is why I say that ignorance might get some sympathy, but maybe not enough to lend that amount of forgiveness.

One thing is certain: it’ll be interesting to see how all of this unfolds.

And you can rest assured that a fella by the name of Doug Barron is an interested spectator in all of this as well, which doesn’t exactly bode well for those involved. The PGA Tour is in quite a pickle.

Leave a comment