Good Read on Rory McIlroy

Courtesy of Irish Central

“Last year’s Masters was definitely a defining moment for me. It could’ve been a crossroads in my career. I could’ve  done what I did on Sunday at Augusta and let it affect me and let it get to me, and maybe go into a slump, or get down or feel sorry for myself. But I had enough good people around me not to let that happen. It was a big crossroads for me in my career, and I was able to go down the right path and put things right by winning the next Major. All I wanted to do was put myself in that position again just to see if I could handle it better – and I proved to myself that I could.” ~ Rory McIlroy

He’s not afraid to talk to the sports writers, and speaks candidly. He’s got a boatload of confidence, but not so much that he comes across as arrogant and cocky. And the manner in which approaches the game mentally, as well as physically, is refreshing, exciting, and leaves you wanting for more.

There’s nothing to like about this kid, Rory McIlroy, and I do think that he’s a product of good people that he hangs around.

May we hope that fame and fortune doesn’t change him.

2 thoughts on “Good Read on Rory McIlroy

  1. He seems quite grounded certainly relates to the media and fans better than many others. Can you imaging Lord Eldrick as gracious as was Rory after the final round last year at Augusta?

  2. Truthfully, Kenny, I could maybe think of only a handful of players on Tour who might’ve taken the time to talk afterward about a round like that, or let me put it this way – a handful of players who would’ve taken the time and maintained enough perspective to be able to answer the questions with sincerity.

    I think it just reinforces how great of an overall attitude he has, and that attitude helped him respond the way he did immediately after that.

Leave a comment