Snedeker’s Attitude Reaps Rewards

Read Brandt Snedeker’s post-tournament interview Sunday afternoon, shortly after winning the Heritage Tournament. Read it closely.

“You know, I did not envision sitting in this room when I teed off at noon. I didn’t have really any expectations today, at all. I went out there and I worked really hard with my instructor last night for a couple hours after we got done. I didn’t play very well yesterday. Came out today and just kind of everything clicked. I drove the ball fantastic. Came up with a lot of birdie opportunities. I think I only missed a couple of greens out there on the golf course. I was really striking the golf ball pretty well. I rolled it the way like I’ve been rolling it for the last month, just fantastic. Got good looks at it.”

Didn’t play well the day before…. worked on his golf swing after the round…. came out the next day with no expectations…. shot 7-under 64 and ended up winning the golf tournament.

Do yourself a huge favor your next round out: ditch the expectations. Play each shot as it comes, giving it the same level of importance as the shot before. Expect the unexpected. Golf is unpredictable, after all. You have absolutely no control of the wind, the squirrely bounces, or the quality of the lie that your ball finds after each shot. Control the things that you can control, like your attitude. Let everything else come as it may.

The only expectations you should have are doing your best on every shot, which also takes into consideration the decisions you make, and accepting the shot afterward – good, bad, or indifferent. And throw in a smile or two for good measure from time to time. It’s only a game.


1 thought on “Snedeker’s Attitude Reaps Rewards

  1. From someone who has vast experience in this regard let me just say that truer words have never been spoken. A positive outlook is certainly the path to greater enjoyment of the game and will make you someone with whom most others – at least the ones that matter – want to play. And for my money there is no greater compliment than that.,,

Leave a comment