No More Golf Channel for DirecTV Viewers?

I was surfing the channels a few nights ago and I thought to myself, “How can one have nearly 200 channels yet not find anything remotely interesting to watch…”

With absolutely nothing on that evening, I did what most golfers do: I resigned myself to watch a rerun of some sort on the Golf Channel. Not that I want to watch Big Break Mesquite for like the 3rd time, or Hank Haney trying to somehow get Ray Romano an exemption on the Nationwide Tour for breaking 80…. but maybe if I’m lucky I might get to watch the 2004 segment of Luke Donald on Playing Lessons With the Pros for like the 5th time.

So I ran down my favorites list, found the Golf Channel, and clicked “enter.”

I didn’t find players trying to break out panes of glass on Big Break Mesquite. Hank Haney wasn’t screaming at Ray Romano and telling him that he didn’t need to know why his backswing felt so goofy. Luke Donald wasn’t decked out in decade-old golf apparel talking about the biggest pitfalls that he sees each week playing with his pro-am playing partners. Nope, nothing like that.

Instead, I see a band of rogue surfers turned bank robbers making Gary Busey’s life a living hell. Are you kidding me? Who’s in charge of programming now, Adam Scott? Get the hell out…. You mean to tell me that I’m now resigned to watching C-grade movies like Point Break, movies that have absolutely nothing to do with golf on a channel that’s supposedly dedicated solely to golf? Who in hell’s bells came up with this ingenious idea!

You think that maybe this type of BS is why the Golf Channel’s ratings back in November ranked 80th out of 88 major television networks for the month? And they’ve got the audacity to wonder why DirecTV isn’t eager to come to the table to work out a deal for 2011….

ARTICLE

1 thought on “No More Golf Channel for DirecTV Viewers?

  1. I thought that perhaps there was something wrong with my remote when I entered channel 531 and saw Point Break and Analyze This…

    But just think; we can look forward to the new morning show!

    eeeeeeeekkkkkkk!

Leave a comment